Friday, June 26, 2009

STYLIN AND PROFILIN'

It's been a crazy day... however, it's been one to remember. I lost power this AM and woke up late for work and was so warm that me and Jax was both a lil sweaty. However, I slept thru the storm. Didn't even wake me. Guess I kind of had some peace. Then, Michael Jackson died yesterday, RIP, and everybody and they momma had it in their status. Kudos to yall and the King of Pop.

My partna Calvin had the red jacket and my boy Tywan, BOTH OF THEM ARE ON FACEBOOK, had the Glitter glove and could spin around like nobody else.

LULZ, nah they didn't.. I just wanted to rag on them.

Just stylin a lil bit. Been Profilin too. Changing my profile pics pretty much every week with different shots.. Getting my JON MOORMAN, SHIRT OFF POSE on... Still Coming for you, JON, and we going to Dallas soon to ball outta control. Brandy, I'm on the way next time with Jon so he better get this gig so we can come "SOONER THAN LATER"... one of my favorite Drake songs.

Anyway, while watching the Draft last night(SNORE, I'm going Free Agency to the Orlando Magic to play with Jameer Nelson(who I have been mistaken for, but I'm much more attractive)... I went back and was thinking, "Yo, you ain't blogged in a while... Gotta find some inspiration."

So layin in bed last night I was lookin at my Facebook page and admiring my profile pic(Yes, I'm proud of my hard work... you don't like it, BLAH, Cuz I'm in Polo's and flops) but I was like, "Why did I choose this one." You don't even see my face.. Just my back...and while it is quite LUSCIOUS(yeah, u know it is... u ain't gotta tell me, shhhhhhhh) I have changed it a few times, but I came back to it.

Wow, just got hype because DIAMOND GIRL just came on in my playlist and I did the real hard shoulder shrug(Kara and Sheena know what I mean) Loves this song, and maybe I'll find her soon.

Returning to the pic... Today, was going to be a good day... I keeps it real at the Middle Finger so I'll let you all know that I had fallin behind a lil bit in my finances dealing with house upkeep(running a house on 1 income when it was being ran on two) and fixing ish and making sure that the car I got from my sister to replace the car I allowed my son's mother to take possesion(she was on the loan, long story, big mistake) and take over payments, was up to par.

Pretty much is there...waiting for a small piece to come in 2ma from AutoZone to fix the AC, cuz it been rough since it went out. I made due though...

The reason that today was really suppossed to be good was that I was going to finally drop my mortgage checks for the time that I had fell behind. I mean, it was pouring the last 40-50 days with expenses, but I didnt' get too frustrated. Didnt' get too high, or too low.. I told God, "Just make a way like you always do, I trust You, Lord... but I need You."

Hard work and scrimping and saving doesn't bother me. I can eat the same thing over and over 8 days a week and not be tired of it cuz I'm a picky eater.. So I had to cut back a lil to get back to the top. Had to take out a loan against my 401K and cut back on a lot of luxury items. What was left over, Jax got first dibs and then if there was anything, I'd maybe get that cash..

I was pumped though when I got to work... I called my mortgage company and was planning on apologizing for being a little behind(2 months) but that I was back on track again. Here's the thing that you won't believe and I still don't really believe.

I called them and when I got the automated system, it said, "YOUR ACCOUNT IS CURRENT."

"DO WHAT" I screamed into the phone to the robot voice...

Uh oh, I might have to shout like Dr. Cosby was up in here.... cuz I think you know where I'm going...

I didnt believe it.. How could that be, Nah, I'm behind 2 months, but I got all my bread and for July, I'mma be smooth to get it to you before the 16th when it's due.

Hit back to main menu and rekeyed the info.... "YOUR ACCOUNT IS CURRENT"

Why is Bank of America playin with me???? I'm behind. I know it.

So I talked to the Home Retention dept, because when me and my ex broke up and she split, she wasn't giving me ANYTHING on any bills for the last 2 months she was here so I had to foot the entire ish and I was still having to pay on my car, etc. I ended up getting a Loan Modification and they lowered my interest rate.

When I spoke to the guy, he was like "Mr Davenport, the account is current and your next payment isn't due until July 1st and as long as it's in by the 16th, you're fine."

I was like, "Nah, but playa, u ain't hearin me, I owe for 2 months, there gotta be a mistake."

So he puts me on hold and goes and checks... comes back in 2 minutes and was like, "Mr. Davenport, it's been taken care of." Payment is due on July 1st. I can transfer you to Customer service and they can tell you who did it."

So I get transferred and I talk to the girl in Customer Service...tell her the same situation and was like, "You serious???" Cuz she said the same exact thing. She went to go check why it was paid and then she was like, "Well, it won't tell me that, but I know it's paid." Payment is due July 1st.

I'm like, "Can I get this in writing?" She was like "I can send you another statement stating that you only owe the amount your payment is for July."

Are you sure?? I am like, "WHAT THE HELL is going on????"

She said, "Yes sir."

So I get off the phone and call back Home Retention and was like, "Nah, this ain't right..."

And I got another girl and she was on it... She said the same thing... but she found out the reason... When I did the Modification, when it was approved an adjustment wasnt made to assist me in catching up. Get this, the Collection dept of Bank of America caught it and adjusted it and paid the payment. FOR MAY AND JUNE.

I'm shocked. And like really shocked. They said, "Mr. Davenport, we have it documented that you don't owe a payment until July and you've talked to two people and we have told you this... Here are our names for your reference..."

All I could say was Thank you, JESUS...cuz I was just happy to get back to where I was before my finance trouble hit.

Now, let's get back to the Profile pic... What am I doing???? My arms are outstretched and my head is down . What does it remind you of?

I don't compare myself to HIM, but I was driving back from my lunch and looking at FACEBOOK and saw the picture again and then it hit me....

HE PAID IT ALL.... JESUS paid it all... OH, I know you betta be shoutin right now, cuz I'm about too myself again...

PAID IT ALL...HE HUNG ON THAT CROSS and PAID ALL OUR DEBTS... He took the reward that we deserved, DEATH, and gave us instead, LIFE ETERNAL.

See, I only deserved, in my opinion to get back to where I was and I was thrilled about that... However, GOD, had MORE in store for me...

Nah, Playboy, I heard your prayers, I see you hustlin, I see you sacrificing... and not losing faith.... You ain't about to be back to where you were, I'm PUTTIN YOU AHEAD... Yes, I just shouted.

And when I was pulling into the parking garage to walk back into my building, two tears fell because I got it.

I called my sister after I got off the phone and she shouted.... I'm still in amazement. God knew... I was ready to settle in what I thought I was gonna have, but GOD showed me, Keep your Faith and I'll always take care of your needs.

So, in wake of Michael Jackson and Ferrah Fawcet both passing on, be encouraged that as of today, you have life and as long as you have that... You are ahead of the game.

You may not have much, but what you got, use it, and be thankful and keep your faith and God will take care of you... He always does.


This is the Middle Finger... Happy as he** that I didn't lose faith, and kept looking at my "STACK" instead of my "LACK".


Monday, June 15, 2009

PATIENCE....GRASSHOPPER

As Father's Day approaches this coming Sunday, I was inspired, well, not inspired but thinking about writing a blog about something that ties into it...However, going back thru the blogs that I have already written, I vaguely touched on being a Father already. However, because this is THE MIDDLE FINGER( and I'm sorry but this song I keep playing with DRAKE and LLOYD, A NIGHT OFF, has me wanting to spoil somebody with kisses and and all kind of other stuff for a special occasion, so I don't know how this is gonna come out) we don't repeat topics.

Did you just re-read that last thing that is inside the parenthesis? I know you did... You ain't slick, Middle Finger knows you by now.... Yes, men do actually do those things when the oppertunity and the right person allow them the permission to do so... Unfortunately, I don't think I'm gonna get permission for the actions I wanna take, but HOT DAYUM, I'd freak the hell outta that song on her. Cuz the Middle Finger knows what to do with it....(Like the song says).

It's difficult because I want to do that soooooooo bad, but alas, It doesn't seem to be in the cards, in my opinion. ... BUT... Who knows, I may get a message with the Disarm codes and then The MIDDLE FINGER may get to RAISE up to DEAFCON 5... LOL. Get ya minds out of the gutters... Okay, I guess I gotta get mine out first. There, I just did it. But I'mma play this song one more time and then visualize all my spontaneous moves and counter moves, cuz the Middle Finger plays a STIMULATING game of Chess with ya body that ya man probably won't take the time to do...CHECKMATE!!!!!!!


Okay, Okay, Okay..... I gotta get you to refocus with me because I don't want you to miss this message and I can't be passing on the enlightenment that is bestowed upon me as get kinda, well, You know... .. YEAH.

Whew, had to get that out of my system... But I want it..... I WANT IT, I WANT IT, I DESERVE IT, WHY AIN'T IT GONNA HAPPEN? UGH, I'M SO FRUSTRATED... I'M SURE THAT OTHER PEOPLE ARE PROBABLY FREAKIN THAT SONG(probably not, and not like I would, but saying that for dramatic effect and to prove a point)... I GOT TO DO IT BEFORE WITH SOMEONE ELSE(another example) BUT I WANT TO DO IT WITH HER.... LOOK @ HIM??? DUDE OVER THERE....DAMN, HE LOOK LIKE HE'S SPOILING HIS CHICK(I'm better at it) WITH ALL KINDS OF AFFECTION... I WANNA BREAK SOMETHING BECAUSE IT'S NOT FAIR. I'M ME.... I AM SPECIAL... WHY CAN I NOT GET EVERYTHING I WANT, WHEN I WANT IT? SHE GOT IT... 20 OTHER PEOPLE GOT IT, BUT I DIDN'T GET MINE. THE WORLD'S F'D UP CUZ OF THAT.....


Now, there was a reason I wrote that last paragraph...Ever had thoughts like that?? Said similar words like that in other situations?? I'm sure you have, even if you wanna admit it because we know this is the INTERNET and we ALL have it together don't we? As I went on in those first few paragraphs... and yes, that is a real situation... but I just couldn't let it go. Why you ask??? Because I desire it. Part of me feels that I need it. That my energy craves it... but it's not up to me. I'll say it again... It's not up to me. However, even if I don't get to show that particular person how it feels to have my mouth gently move like a BISHOP and ROOK(Chess pieces) all over her mid-section... eventually, there will be someone who I feel the same way about and probably will end up showering her with that affection.


The point I'm trying to make is something that many Granny's and Momma's have told you and I since we hit our grown up years as we begin to accumlate different types of thing..... "What God has for you, is for You." So why stress? Seriously? I know it's easier said than done but why Stress about what someone else gets or someone else has that you don't have? Why do we always look at our "lack" instead of our "stack"? True, it's difficult at times to see people constantly reach a level that you are trying to obtain, especially when you don't believe that they are as talented as you are, or have worked nearly as hard as you have or struggled nearly as long as you may have. They may be blowing money on IPHONE's and Kanyeezy shoes and you may have to hit up the Check Advance place to make sure that you have enough cash to make all the payments on time...


You know what??? It's how it is... and complaining, or whining, or crying or envying ain't gonna do NUTHIN in terms of an aspect of getting you to where YOU wanna be. Everybody at your job may have got that RAISE, and even if they only got 3 percent and you didn't get anything.... You know what... It sux, but at least you still got a job. At least you not at Sixth and Cedar at the UNEMPLOYMENT OFFICE, standing in line wondering if they gonna get you together...(No offense to ANYONE who has to deal with that right now because you wont be like that forever).. We should all really take the time to mediate on that phrase that we've been schooled on by our loved ones... WHAT GOD HAS FOR ME, IS FOR ME.

Deep down, I think we really all understand it but I don't think that we always wanna go thru the tough times that we occasionally have to endure to get our reward. God promised to supply our NEEDS... Not our WANTS. You may WANT new Jimmy Choo's, but right now, you gotta rock what is already in your closet. You may want a new SUV truck but right now, you gotta drive your Honda Civic. You may want a HOUSE and a yard, but right now, You gotta reside in your Apartment... or even your momma's house.

One thing I've learned about God over my years is that.... GOD KNOWS WHAT HE IS DOING. FROM EVERLASTING TO EVERLASTING is a LONG TIME, so I'm sure that the ALMIGHTY has had plenty of Practice getting people together. Think back to Bible Stories... It's full of them. JOSEPH... who's brothers sold him into slavery and was out KICKING it while Joseph was locked up...It was while JOSEPH was in that jail that he began to interpret dreams...and long story short, In the end, the Brothers who sold Joseph, bowed before him. Think of the Virgin Mary.... and being pregnant by the Holy Spirit.... Imagine her thinking??? "Why I gotta do this?" "Why do I have to endure this??? Everyone knows that I haven't been with my future husband who I am engaged to, but yet here I stand pregnant. They gonna think I'mma ho." You know how that story goes.... She gave birth to the savior of the world. See, That was FOR her.


That's the plan GOD had laid out for her since she was first thought of. And think about the person who wrote more of the NEW TESTAMENT than ANYONE.... PAUL the APOSTLE. Think about PAUL and how he started off KILLING and MURDERING Christians... Only to be given the task to push the message and name of JESUS further than anyone in the BIBLE. Think about that. THINK OF THAT RADICAL effect. It wouldn't be as spectacular of a testimony to the power of GOD if it was someone who was always put on that path. Again, that was what GOD had in store for PAUL. Even in the midst of his struggles and the killing and slaying, GOD had him right where HE wanted him to be.


There are countless other stories. The MIDDLE FINGER knows how it is... Yeah, I wanna ride BIG BODY BENZ, huh???(HOT BOYZ CD INTERLUDE) but right now I ain't. I'm thankful though... I have a car. It is Mine and it's making it to and from work and to and from getting JAX VEGAS every day. I want a huge house, like Tpain...(man, his house is LAID, cuz I saw it on Cribs and was like, "T-pain can me and Jackson come ova???") but right now I don't got it. I have a house and a roof that's over my head and my air works... and my Power is on.... and the Windows work and the ROOF doesn't leak ( thank you Jesus) when it rains... I eventually want to be with someone long term... It's hard at times being alone as much as I am. Not really connecting with anyone on some serious progression ISH long term...

I've been the type that scrolled through the phone at night.... Listening to the LOVE BELOW and VIBRATE( LOL @ Nard)... but I haven't been into that in so long that I ain't really trying to go back... Sure, I'd like her like 2 weeks ago, but again... What God has for me is for Me. I have a lot of female friends who are incredible to conversate and talk with about many subjects... To laugh and joke and cut up with... So I'm not doing too too bad. I'll get what God wants me to get when I am ready. Not because I think it's owed to me, or that I deserve it, or that because other people have it and so should I but because there is a level that I have to get to myself, so that I can show Him that I can handle how he REALLY wants to bless me.

We live in a MICROWAVE popcorn society... We wanna be able to throw the bag in, push a button and get what we want...ASAP. In closing... think deeper on that bag of popcorn. On most Microwaves, isn't there a preset button for POPCORN? So doesn't that mean that it is ALREADY programmed in when the BAG is going to be ready to be enjoyed? How much heat and power is gonna be used to maximize the unpopped popcorn to get a FULL BAG?

If you don't use the button and say you don't know how long the button's time is and you put it on for TOO long what happens? The popcorn burns. If you put it on for too short of a time, what occurs? Yep, not all the popcorn gets popped and you lose a lot of the bag to waste. Mediate.... You are the Bag... If you wait too long, you'll ruin your blessing.... If you want it too fast, you will WASTE it. But be thankful and rejoice that GOD has already had a PRESET button ready for your life... and when YOU are done popping.... I promise you, if you TRUST in HIM...Your bag will ALWAYS be full. Might not be FULL of Hundeds and Twenty's.... But it will be Full.


THIS IS THE MIDDLE FINGER, HOPING THAT AT LEAST ONE PERSON WAS REMINDED OF SOMETHING THEY NEEDED TO HEAR....


PS WATCH THE VIDEO OF THE SONG I'M JAMMIN LATELY.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1C0GFJHADgs

Wednesday, June 10, 2009

EYE OF THE STORM....

Growing up... all I wanted to ever do was play in the rain....

Fully Grown, now it seems... in life, I remain in the pain...


Ain't changing the game..driving a Range...damn... sometimes it 's sooo tuff..


In the eye of the storm...outside of da norm...why these winds be blowin' so ruff


This is no bluff.. lookin down at the hand I'm holdin'.... it's not great... Cuz I'm....poker faced in


dispair.... with a.... small pair, and the dealer just flopped a "nut straight"...


Damn !!!!!







That was just a freestyle that I made up for this blog.. Me and my boy, French, was flowing to J Dilla this past weekend, to one of the illest beats I've heard from the Late, Great, Producer... Glamour Sho(75)... and if he's reading this... which I'm sure he is... French knows that was was getting grimy on the beat like we already had a deal. I was reminded of how much I got love for my homeboys...seriously. We have been together as a crew since we was like 3-4 years old and that's all the way 100 honest. I mean, we all went to the same daycare together... We rep the same area of town we grew up in, MECHANICSVILLE, (OB, Baby)... we've been in fights together, we've been in fights with other people... we stood up to the neighborhood bullies who tried to pick on us, we laughed at the haters who were jealous of our bond...





We've experienced the death of my parents, the birth of my and Calvin, and Jon's and Mason's sons. The death of Jon's first son, the death of Mason's father...and a lot more. True Friends.... aren't easy to come by and while I type this listening to "BE ALRIGHT" by my favorite group, Foreign Exchange(yes, I'mma always plug these guys) I'm smiling. My favorite MC in the world currently, PHONTE, of Little Brother and lead vocalist and Spitta of Foreign Exchange, talks on the intro, and this is why I love Phonte and believe he is truly gifted as an artist... Everytime he spits... I feel exactly what he's saying... It's no wonder this album is called, "CONNECTED" because it connects to me... Super Producer, NICOLAY(Betta Man from the Netherlands) is the other half of the group and his creativity and amazing ear, and imagination on the boards, embraces Phonte's words with the strength of an old school box style Lincoln town car...( I used to drive one and it was like a tank...French, remember when I ran into the pole at Headliners when we was buttered off Jimmy Beam???).





I love that album, and when I first heard Be Alright.... It hit me like, "Oh Snap... I gotta hear that again, and again, and again.." I think I played it like 5 times in a row before I went to the next song...



On the intro, Phonte says.... "





I know, I know how it can be somtimes...youknowwhatImsayin??? When you feel like, youknowhwhatImsayin...like, you know when you feel like it's nobody you can turn to...or when it's, shyt starts getting real out here... I know how it is man... We can identify with that shyt for real....Since yall know it's going to be okay...yaknowImmean??? It's goin be alright.... TROUBLE DONT LAST ALWAYS...Ya Mean?"





SideBar-----Then he spits one of his classic verses... I mean... I am including the link to the video... WATCH IT. This is from like 2004 and it's so much better than the bullshyt out today...



It's that last part, the trouble don't last always, that perked my ears up the first time I heard it and it became stored away in my mental roledex to be contacted at a later date....The later date was today. It's something that people say, in many different forms and connotations, but the utter and simple truth is that it's exactly right... Trouble don't always last. However, knowing that the end of the storm will eventually come.... doesn't always comfort you when you are within those winds... Remember when the disciples were with Jesus on the boat and they were all of a sudden awakened by a massive storm..where the winds and water were crashing upon their small vessel and they were all afraid and worried..and Jesus was in sleepy land, thinking about feeding the 5,000 and cheesin' like he was going to get the last piece of chicken and cornbread from Grandma's house??? I'm sure you do...





Can you recall what Jesus said???? 5 seconds....I'm going to have to know if that's your final answer???? LOL... Well, I'm sure many of you do...at least you know the part of the statement which is what he said to the storm.... "Peace, Be still." It's something about what he said..AFTER he calmed the winds and the waves that is on my mind... "Why were you afraid... Where is your faith?" In virtually every aspect of our exsistence, and some point, we will have storms... Now, I know you remember the blog, OVER THE MOUNTAIN??? Yeah, I liked that one too... but this is a wee bit different. See, in OVER THE MOUNTAIN, I wanted to express the actual movement toward a goal... toward the completion of a task...Toward growth in both your mind and your spirit.





Over the mountain was about YOU moving..... Eye of the storm is written to remind you about GOD moving. My sister...man... She's incredible.... I love her so much...She's held me down since I was a small, big headed, nappy headed, buck tooth, lil boy to now that I've grown into a fine, sexy, piece of visual stimulation... (Don't hate...you lucky you ain't seen the new pics and videos of the workouts..) But back to my sister.... I wouldn't trade her for the entire world... and she knows how I am.... Brandon is a super duper thinker and she even tells me, "As smart as you are... how come you struggle to remember the simple lessons we was taught growing up..." She knows me... I always think within a storm... Worst case Scenario... and I try to cut things off at the pass, often to my own demise because I think that I'm talented enough, and smart enough to do it... Time and time again, she reminds me as well as life reminds me.... I am not.





I'm in a mini storm right now...dealing with some iddish that I'm sure many of you probably can relate to. Relationships with certain people, thoughts of financial comfort, future aspects of things...etc. But it's this verse that I awoke with on my heart after my sister was sending me a series of text messages last night reminding me not to be discouraged. I have to ask myself from time to time... Where is my faith? See, like the disciples, I rip and run and try to stop the water from coming into my own personal boat...



I attempt to keep the winds from blowing my sails away... but to no avail, my efforts go in vain... If you are like me, then it is within the storm that you have to seek the answer as to why.. It's because there are times where God wants you to move....and there are times where He wants you to "BE STILL." It's much easier, In my humble opinion, to move rather than be still. Because when you are still, it reminds you just how little control you really have over your own life in many situations.





I couldn't control the fact my Water Heater busted a few weeks ago... but it did. That's part of life... Things occur. Luckily, I had the money to get it repaired, even if it did set me back a little bit. The belt on my car broke...and now I'm without my ride until probably Friday...and at first I was pissed and agitated and angry because it seems like it's one thing after another. Like you only get ahead to shortly be kicked right back to where you were.... Like you just won a big hand at poker only to get caught in a bluff with a small pair and the dealer has a "nut straight" When it seems like the harder you push, the more you grind, the faster you sink into the quicksand...the more problems and pitfalls you accumulate...the more you wail and flap your arms in the water... the faster you sink... It's those times, where you have to know... It's not the season for you to go over the mountain.... It's time for you to Be Still.





To open your ears... To listen, to shut off your fear and worry and apprehension and remember to take God at His word. To remember who He is and that He is bigger than your storm. The Disciples, after Jesus spoke and calmed the winds, were amazed....and they whispered amongst each other... "Who is this man that even the winds obey him?" No matter how much you prepare, or how much you plan, or panic, Storms are going to come...and when they do, remember where to go and what to do... When you are in your storm....and your behind on your rent, and your car payment is late...or you are struggling to find a job, or struggling with your own inner issues, and you feel as if the winds are blowing too hard and that there is no end to the raging Waves that crash all around you, and your boat is rocking to and fro....take a deep breath. Remember, as a believer, who you belong to...





Remember the promises, and clutch onto them with all the life you have in you.... My friends, if the storm flattens you to the ground...remember... All you need is the strength to get to your knees...and once you are there... Remember... Peace is there for you, if you remember to Be Still. I know you have so much that relies on you, so many that depend on you, but remember... Be Still.... Your kids are having issues and you are struggling to find out what and why... Be still. People are turning their backs on you and hating on you.... Be Still. Bills are due and you may not know if you going to have all the money to pay them.... Be Still and let God do what He does...Return the raging waters of your life back into Calm seas.





This is the Middle Finger..... Being Still.... cuz actually, It's the only move I got left.





http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kD0zoziotU0&feature=PlayList&p=E7A19862939DC265&playnext=1&playnext_from=PL&index=6

Wednesday, June 3, 2009

AND WITH THE FIRST PICK IN THE N.B.A. DRAFT.....

It's June.... and you know what that means for all the basketball junkies in the world... .Two things... First, the NBA Finals will be taking place and Second, THE NBA DRAFT. I haven't missed a first round of a NBA draft in at least the last five years. I follow it starting about the end of March and read reports and scouting information on all the top athletes and what team is looking for what and so on. You know, the draft has changed so much since when it was first implemented all those many years ago.

In the earlier times, teams would select players based on their immediate impact. Teams wanted someone to come in and play right away and make things happen.. They wanted PRODUCTION for their investment in a high draft pick. A college senior who may have just went to a Final Four or even won a National Championship... a proven winner. Flash Forward to about the last 7-8 years and that sentiment has changed and done a complete 180. ( I hate when people F*** up and say 360, if you did a 360, you'd be right back where you started...The correct term is 180 so don't F*** it up anymore. )

Now, NBA teams draft on what they call "upside".... or to put it in simpler terms, POTENTIAL. Potential has taken the place of production on draft night.... and with NBA salaries being worth Millions of dollars to get one of the 30 First Round Selections( Money is not guaranteed if you aren't drafted in 1st round for all those who didn't know.) it's amazing to see how many teams are willing to shell out money and draft a kid who may be athletic but still learning how to play the game over someone who has proven himself over and over again.

You may be saying: "Yo, Middle Finger... that doesn't make sense to me... Why would someone do that... Ain't they trying to win?"

To that I reply: "I mean... Pssssssst ( sound effects with my mouth as I shrug my shoulders... take a second and visualize me doing that) I have no clue for real. People do things all the time to fit their own needs and that doesn't always require making much sense to anyone other than themselves. I guess, Reader(that's you), they have they reasons. AND, I really don't know.

I know how the draft works.. Teams pick based on needs...both Current and Future.... You may not need a Center,(NORMALLY THE TALL GUY)... but say you pick #16 and there was a kid who was pegged to go in the top 5 and for some reason he didn't and kept dropping and dropping and here you are with the #16 pick thinking you were going to get a good player Who you need, but now you have a shot for a GREAT player, that you really don't need. What do you do? I titled this blog, "And with the first pick in the N.B.A draft...." for two reasons... One, that's what David Stern says at the beginning of the first round each year.. (He's the lil white dude who runs the league...man, there always seems to be a lil white dude running something, don't it? No offense to white readers... Middle Finger loves yall.) and two, notice the periods between each letter of N.B.A.

I didn't mean National Basketball Association in my title.... I am saying the N.B.A. as in the "NEVER BEING ALONE" draft. Let that marinate.... like a freshly cut T-Bone that you about to throw on the Grill.... is it flashing back thru your head yet??? The initial paragraphs? Is it taking shape?? Good... Peel away the layers... and focus your eyes on visualizing the final product. Do you know people like that??? Maybe you are one. The kind of people who can NEVER BE ALONE... So much so that they seem to undervalue their draft picks in the important aspect of dating and interaction. I used to struggle with this in my earlier days... THE BJ days... Before Jackson...as I have broken my life down into two parts, BJ and AJ. Ten bonus points for the smart person who can guess what the "AJ" stands for.

One of my favorite rappers, COMMON, has what I've called "A perfect song." Meaning that the lyrics and the beat just seem to mesh and join in every possible way... The Song is called, "Ghetto Heaven" here is one of his verses....


"Love, your happiness dont begin with a man Strong woman, so why should you depend on a man

I understand you want a man thats resourceful..If he pay your bills, he feel like he bought you

Talkin to a friend, about what love is...Her man didnt love her, cuz he didnt love his

Hugged her from afar, said what I felt...You never find a man, till you find yourself

Time helps mistakes, you can learn from...Cuz ONE MAN fucked up MEN you shouldnt turn from

You want a certain type of guy, gotta reach a certain point too.....At the destination, a king will annoint you <-----( MY FAVORITE LINE)

Goin through the storm, MANY BODIES SEEM WARM

That relationship died, for you to be born, you worth more

Than anything you could cop in a store

For you to GROW he had to GO so what you stoppin him for <-------(MESSAGE)

Not even I could ignore being alone its hard

Find heaven in yourself and god."



Man, you just don't know how LONG I've been waiting to use that verse in a blog... I've tried before... but I just couldn't make it fit.... I think in this blog... It's just right...Mary J, and Keyshia Cole ain't the only ones you wanna listen to to get some type aspect on relationships in music... cuz COMMON just crushed it right there...I promise you, if you can get what he said and let it get down in you... You'll be good to go.


Although Com's verse was directed towards Females.... It applies to males the same way.... It's UNIVERSAL.... That GOING THROUGH THE STORM line.... I know EVERY SINGLE PERSON READING THIS CAN RELATE...except Juanita Bynum Jr... and she knows who she is.... LOL...
The reason I tied the NBA draft with the N.B.A. draft is because we tend to do it the same way. We tend to look for mates or possible mates, often based on potential rather than production. I'm not saying one way is better than the other because deep down, I think everyone has an idea of what they want and don't want and what they can and cannot put up with.

Just like in the NBA draft... selecting someone that you wish to get to know on a deeper level of connection is a crap shoot. There have been #1 picks in the NBA draft ( a spot normally reserved for the best overall player) who have been complete and utter BUSTS. Michael Olawakandi (yall remember him, my dudes) was AWFUL, but he was 7 feet 2 inches Went #1 overall to the CLIPPERS... There have been guys who were dropped all the way into the second round, Gilbert Arenas and Rashard Lewis( Lewis is playing for the NBA CHAMPIONSHIP) and they were overlooked by every team at least ONCE, only to both become All Stars and have major NBA contracts. Arenas makes about 80 million, Lewis, 119 million.


Not bad for two guys who NBA teams didn't think were good enough to get chosen in the first round.... Oh yeah, Olawakandi now works at Target in Hawaii... Or so I heard, I just know that he's no longer in the NBA cuz he was flat out AWFUL.

So what you trying to say Middle Finger????

That I want you to be careful and cautious when you are making your pick.... Understand what the pro's and con's are. If you are going to draft on potential...the set a time limit on how long you are willing to wait to see the potential turned into production. Don't draft a guy based on you thinking that he's going to be something and then five years later, he's only inched 2 centimeters closer to his GED.

See the signs.. Constant promises about "Doing this" or "Getting this done" or " I'mma change" , but nothing ever gets done or changes... There is a high probability that you have drafted a bust. Most men, and use the term, "MEN" lightly because many real men are either losing faith in our sisters and turning red states blue( switching races) or they just won't commit because they don't think it's the right time. So the Sisters's pickens are gettin what they call, "Slimmer".

With this, creates a down turn in the quality of men being produced to lead households of familes into years of prosperity.

I'm really trying to say don't settle. Now, on the flip side, don't be unrealistic and demand outlandish shit and think that everyone of your demands should and must be met because you think you are a Queen. I doubt any of yall is related to Cleopatra, Nefertiti, Elizabeth, Latifah, Queen of the Damned (AALIYAH's last movie)...Queen Bee( damn her face is messed up) and any other Queen I may have over looked.

The Middle Finger wants you to know, it's okay to be alone. It's okay to take your time and choose wisely. To study your potential draft pick before you give yourself the OK to make the deal.

Nothing hurts me more than to see people unhappy with another person just because they don't wanna be unhappy by themselves.... Like someone is going to look at you like you are a LEPER because you are single and have been for a while. AINT NOTHING WRONG WITH YOU... I promise. NOTHING at all... .Unless, well, there really is something wrong with you and then you outta my ability to assist you.

Don't make excuses as I did.... Knowing I shoulda left long before I did because of not wanting to leave my son behind... That was my crutch. I hated where I was in my last relationship, but I hated the Idea of not seein Jax daily much more. If I could go back in time and do it over again, I woulda been out, got my same lawyer, and got the same deal as I do now in which I get my son everyday.

I know it ain't always easy because of finances, and other obstacles, but I'd rather be ALONE and happy than with someone and miserable. Don't be fooled into thinking that you can't make it without that person... or if you have a child or two... that you have to settle.... Now, being a parent.... I'm there with my other parents... but If you got more than two baby daddies...Well, hmmmm, You probably are going to have to look a little harder... PRAY A LOT MORE....because you require a great deal of understanding and assitance and if the guy you with ain't already part of a brady bunch, you're asking him to accept alot of responsibility that he didn't create. Same way for any guys who may read this and you got multiple Baby Mommas... it may be easier for you to find someone, but still, same principles apply.

I've said it once before..... "NEVER MAKE SOMEONE A PRIORITY, WHEN THEY HAVE THE ABILITY TO MAKE YOU AN OPTION."

So before you jump into that next relationship... Breathe, Stretch, Shake( LOL, I just wanted to give a reference to MASE)

Be wise...make choices that are good for both parties... Think, "Would we have a good future together based on our strengths and weaknesses" and not, "He/She's fine and they like me." and don't cement anything until you get some of your questions answered. Give yourself a chance to find someone to make you happy. Happy, that's a word everyone needs to experience. Happiness.


This is The MIDDLE FINGER...saying that Derek Fisher still sux, Go KOBE and the Lake Show....and you should probably read this blog and the last one again..... Just cuz you should.